German holidays

Public holidays in Germany and important German holidays 2017

Comments0 comments

Here is a list of holidays in Germany 2017, including German national holidays and regional holidays in Germany, daylight savings, school holidays, Mother's and Father's Days and other important German holidays.

Whether you're living in Germany or just visiting, it's important to be aware of German national holidays and other important German holidays as most businesses typically close.

There are nine official public holidays in Germany that are celebrated nationally each year, alongside regional holidays that are only celebrated in certain German states. This means that some German states have more German holidays than others; lucky citizens can enjoy up to 13 days of German public holidays a year, one of the highest public holiday entitlements in Europe.

Many of the German bank holidays are religious and date back centuries. A more recent holiday in Germany is the Day of German Unity celebrated on 3 October, which commemorates the anniversary of German reunification in 1990. You can see which national holidays in Germany coincide with Germany's top festivals, which are a great way to experience German culture and sample regional German food, particularly during the colourful carnival in Germany.

Besides German Unity Day, holidays in Germany are determined by the federal states. If a German holiday falls on a weekend, the German national holiday is not typically transferred to a weekday. Many businesses – but not police stations or hospitals – close during national holidays in German and regional public holidays.

Official public holidays in Germany 2017

(N) = National (R) = Regional

  • Sunday 1 January: New Year’s Day (Neujahrstag) (N)

  • Friday 6 January: Epiphany (Heilige Drei Könige) (R) – Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Saxony-Anhalt

  • Friday April 14: Good Friday (Karfreitag) (N)

  • Monday 17 April: Easter Monday (Ostermontag) (N)

  • Monday May 1: Labour Day (Maifeiertag) (N)

  • Thursday 25 May: Ascension Day (Christi Himmelfahrt, 40 days after Easter) (N)

  • Monday 5 June: Whit Monday (Pfingstmontag) (N) – seventh Monday after Easter, also called Pentecost Monday.

  • Thursday 15 June: Corpus Christi (Fronleichnam) (R) – Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, and some local authorities in Saxony and Thuringia.

  • Tuesday 8 August: Peace Festival (R) – Bavaria (Augsburg)

  • Tuesday 15 August: Assumption Day (Maria Himmelfahrt) (R) – Saarland and some local authorities in Bavaria.

  • Tuesday 3 October: Day of German Unity (Tag der Deutschen Einheit) (N)

  • Tuesday 31 October: Reformation Day (Reformationstag) (N) – celebrated as a German national holiday in 2017 to celebrate the 500th anniversary, although typically it is a regional holiday in Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and parts of Thuringia.

  • Wednesday 1 November: All Saints’ Day (Allerheiligen) (R) – Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saarland.

  • Wednesday 22 November: Day of Prayer and Repentance (Buß-und Bettag, Wednesday before November 23) (R) – Saxony.

  • Monday 25 December: Christmas Day (Weihnachtstag) (N)

  • Tuesday 26 December: Boxing Day/St Stephen’s Day (Stephanstag) (N)also known as the second day of Christmas.

German holidays: holidays in Germany

Important dates and German holidays 

  • Monday 27 February: Shrove Monday
  • Tuesday 28 February: Shrove Tuesday/Carnival
  • Wednesday 1 March: Ash Wednesday/Carnival
  • Sunday March 26: Daylight saving time (DST) starts – clocks go forward one hour.
  • May 5: Father's Day (Vatertag, also known as Männertag, Men's Day, or Herrentag) – coincides with Ascension Day and can be a family celebration or even celebrated by an outing with male friends.
  • Sunday 14 May: Mother’s Day (second Sunday of May)
  • Tuesday 23 May: Constitution Day
  • Saturday 9 September: German Language Day
  • Sunday 10 September: European Heritage Days – when monument buildings are opened to the public.
  • Saturday 23 September: Oktoberfest starts
  • Sunday 29 October: Daylight saving time (DST) ends – clocks go back one hour.
  • Thursday 9 November: Fall of the Berlin wall
  • Saturday November 11: St Martin’s Day – a religious observance where children take part in lantern processions.
  • Sunday 19 November: National Day of Mourning – victims of war are remembered and in some regions music or dance events are prohibited.
  • Wednesday 6 December: St Nicholas Day
  • June 21 and December 21: Solstices – longest and shortest days of the year

German school holidays

Each Federal state sets its own German school holidays calendar. You can find a list of the official portals of the 16 Federal states here.


Expatica

 
 


Comment here on the article, or if you have a suggestion to improve this article, please click here.

If you believe any of the information on this page is incorrect or out-of-date, please let us know. Expatica makes every effort to ensure its articles are as comprehensive, accurate and up-to-date as possible, but we're also grateful for any help! (If you want to contact Expatica for any other reason, please follow the instructions on this website's contact page.)


Captcha Note: Characters are case sensitive
The details you provide on this page will not be used to send any unsolicited e-mail, and will not be sold to a third party. Privacy policy .

0 Comments To This Article